Search DU CTLAT Blog

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Dillard University to Host 10th Annual New York Times Student Journalism Institute

Dillard University to Host 10th Annual

New York Times Student Journalism Institute

(New Orleans) Two Louisiana residents are among the 24 college journalism students from across the U.S. who will attend the 10th annual New York Times Student Journalism Institute at Dillard University starting Sunday.

Jarondakie Patrick of Baker attends Howard University in Washington, D.C., and Dacia S. Idom of Lake Charles attends Louisiana Tech University in Ruston.

The two-week session, ending May 27, will provide intensive hands-on training with some of the best reporters and editors in the country as students report and edit print articles, design pages, film and edit video news segments, and take still photos, according to Don R. Hecker, institute director.

Hecker said the institute selects “the best and the brightest” student journalists for the program, which is run in conjunction with the National Association of Black Journalists and the Black College Communication Association. Many of the more than 350 program graduates now work at some of the most prestigious news organizations in the U.S., he said, adding that more than a dozen are employed at The Times itself.

Writers, editors, designers and photographers from The New York Times and The Boston Globe work with the students. Additionally, four academics also will participate: Dr. Jinx Broussard, formerly of Dillard, who now is an associate professor at the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication; Dr. Cleo Joffrion Allen, chair of Dillard’s School of Mass Communication; Craig Duff, professor at the Medill School of Journalism at Northwestern University, and an award-winning video journalist; and Mark Raymond, Dillard University media specialist.

News articles are published daily online, and at the end of the program, a hard-copy newspaper will be published containing the best material created by the students.

Two universities have two students each participating this year. Chloe Brooks and Chiyenumungo Odigwe attend Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism. And Patrice Peck and Charlena B. Tillett both attend New York University.

Other 2012 participants are:

· Emily Bayci, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

· Chioke Brown, North Carolina Central University.

· Anthony Cave, Florida International University.

· Stephon Dingle, St. Mary’s College of Maryland.

· Zahra Farah, Texas State University.

· Ariam Frezghi, Stony Brook University, New York.

· Tamerra N. Griffin, San Francisco State University.

· Monica Herndon, University of Miami.

· Taylor Lewis, University of Kansas.

· Kelcie McCrae, North Carolina A&T.

· Brittany Taylor, University of California, Los Angeles.

· Aaron Turner, University of Memphis.

· Alexandria Valdez, University of Montana.

· Kenneth L. Ware Jr., Texas Southern University.

· Colleen Wright, University of Florida.

· Saba Naseem, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville.

· Boyace J. Pope, Jacksonville (Ala.) State University.

· Renee Pinckney, Roosevelt University in Chicago.

Since January 2007, The New York Times has had a similar arrangement through the National Association of Hispanic Journalists.


1 comment:

  1. Your blog is very informative. WLCI School of graphic designing also offers programmes in colleges for advertising and graphic design courses.
    For More Details :